Tags

, , , , , , ,

The new season of "Luther" starring Idris Elba is a must-see. Catch back-to-back episodes on On Demand now.

The new season of “Luther,” starring Idris Elba, is a must-see. Catch back-to-back episodes on On Demand now.

With a title like this I can practically hear a welcoming and roaring response of “Hi Marti,” simply because I know I’m not the only binge-watcher out there. It’s because of On Demand, Netflix and Hulu that people like me can take part in the ritual of sitting through hour upon hour of TV-watching at our leisure, whether over a long weekend or one night after work. It’s one of my guilty pleasures, and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Now don’t go thinking that binge-watching is something I do all the time, because it’s not. My schedule won’t permit it. But, just last night I did get the opportunity to catch up on all the new episodes of the BBC America crime thriller “Luther” starring Emmy Award-winner Idris Elba – and let me tell you – they were so good! I won’t give anything away for those of you who haven’t seen the new season yet, but I highly recommend you go to On Demand and check all four of the new episodes out when time permits.

The first time I watched “Luther” was by binging. A family friend recommend it to me and the hubby and instantly we were hooked. After one episode we watched another and another until we had seen them all. Not long after that the eposides could be found on On Demand and Netflix. Since then I’ve binged out on shows like “Misfits,” “Revolution,” “Mad Men” (That was a long one), and “The Walking Dead.”

Of the three most popular ways to enjoy binging I prefer taking the Netflix route. To me it’s the best because you don’t have to sit through a bunch of boring commercials during the show. The other two not only force you to endure the ads, but they torture you by making you sit through what feels like the same three commercials during every break. YIKES!

Netflix was wise enough to see the benefit in binge-watching and developed their own original series with committed viewers in mind. Their show “Orange is the New Black”, starring Taylor Schilling, about a privileged white woman who has to serve 15 months in prison for smuggling drugs, debuted to rave reviews. My personal Netflix fave is the political drama “House of Cards” with Kevin Spacey, who is excellent at slithering his way up the ladder of the White House. LOVE IT! I can’t wait for that one to come back for a second season.

Could the Netflix series "House of Cards" be the new to watch your favorite show?

Could shows like the Netflix series “House of Cards” be the new way to watch network programming?

Now that I’ve gotten my “Luther” fix on I need to find the time to catch up on “Breaking Bad.” I’ve been hearing nothing but good things about how this final season has turned out so far. If you’ve been keeping up with the new episodes, please spear me the details. I want to watch them all for myself – at my leisure of course.

