Tags

, , ,

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s Still lives on simply because we are still "not satisfied."

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s dream still lives on simply because we are still “not satisfied.”

As the nation observes the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington for Jobs & Freedom I can’t help but look at the images from that day and wonder what it must have been like to be there in the crowd in DC five decades ago. I image that there must have been an overwhelming amount to emotions to be had by all. As the people stood in the hot August sun the feeling of frustration, despair, anger, unity, hope, love and even power had to be so thick in the air that day that it was practically tangible.

MI_Mrach on Washington Poster

And what about the “I Have A Dream” speech? I am 200% certain that I would have been clapping, pumping a fist in the air and straining my vocal cords with shouts of support on why we can not be satisfied until changes are made. And by the time Dr. King stepped away from the podium I would have probably hugged at least 10 strangers that I bonded with that day who felt the same energy that I did.

MI_March on Washington Crowd

In honor of this historical event I wanted to take a moment to remember the march and the positive effect it had on people everywhere. I am thankful that despite not being there I can at least watch the day’s events. Thanks to YouTube you can watch it too if you just CLICK HERE.

Until next time…

Marti

