Tags

, , ,

MI_handwriting

At the beginning of the month I asked you all to release your inner poet with me as I challenged myself to write something in celebration of National Poetry Month. I can’t honestly say that I tried my best to create a wonderful piece of work but I did make an attempt. Again, I don’t know if everyone who reads this would consider it a poem, but it is what it is. Let me know what you think.

I Just Knew

The moment YOU came into the conversation my heart pounded with such furry I thought it would leap out my chest.

It’s hard to explain, but I just knew.

Even with such distance between us YOU managed to tug at my heartstrings without me ever hearing your name or seeing your face.

It’s hard to explain, but I just knew.

There was a feeling that our lives would connect, and the relationship that I’d always wanted, avoided, feared and wanted again, would finally take root and grow unconditionally.

Why was I so sure WE were meant to be?

It’s hard to explain, but I just knew. 

-by Marti Parham

If you’re interested in reading more poetry check out Soul Alive: Poetry & Prose created by atlas brown.

Before you go please take a moment to share with me one of the poems you wrote in celebration of National Poetry Month.

Until next time…

Marti

