Tags

, ,

CT  mnet-obit-glover 1228 mh

I couldn’t let the month go by without taking time to remember Terry Glover, managing editor of EBONY Magazine.

I met Terry through my husband some years back, but it wasn’t until she began working at Johnson Publishing Company (JPC), home of EBONY and JET Magazines, that I got to know her better. When she started at JPC she was hired as the website editor for EbonyJet.com. It was when we worked together on web videos for comedian Chris Rock and Blues legend BB King that I got the chance to see how talented she was and how charismatic she could be first hand. In 2009 she was promoted to EBONY’s managing editor position. After that even more of her talents surfaced that left me impressed.

Now, I’m not going to make it seem like Terry and I were the best of friends, because the truth is we weren’t. Even though I didn’t know her favorite color or know what she liked to eat for lunch every day, I did know that she was good people. She always greeted me with a smile and was always there to offer her advice or lend and ear if I needed to talk, all without any judgement whatsoever. It’s that kindness and genuineness that she displayed on a day-to-day basis that I will remember her for most.

Terry lost her battle with colon cancer last month on Christmas Eve. She was 57 years old.

I am happy to say that I knew Terry,  even if it was for a relatively short time. Now that her earthly battle is over Terry can rest in peace. She will be missed.

Read Terry’s full obituary here.

Photo:Vandell Cobb

