Tags

, , , , , ,

MI_Embarrassed face pic

*Sigh*

It’s December 1st and I have failed NaNo.

Again.

But, I swear this time it wasn’t my fault. Really. Well, it was my fault, but that’s because I put my paycheck, and other life events, before my writing. Despite the 5:00 am writing sessions on my best days I didn’t make it close to the magical 50,000 words. I did, however, manage to write somewhere between 10,000 – 15,000 thousand. That’s more than I would have gotten down had I not participated in the challenge at all. So, I guess NaNo 2012 wasn’t a total loss, right?

Don’t get it twisted. I’m not happy about my lack of accomplishment, but I’m trying to stay positive about this. It’s called “failing forward”. I just read a great article about this concept on Kristen Lamb’s blog, Warrior Writers, titled NaNoNowWHAT? Small Steps for Big Change. In it she talks about how to move forward now that the challenge is over, whether you reached the magic number or not. All it takes, she says, is discipline, and that’s something everybody has. We may not use it very often, but we all have it.

So, instead of waiting until the next NaNo challenge to seriously start working on my manuscript again, I’ve decided to use the month of December to exercise the strength of my discipline. Hopefully the word count will add up more in my favor this time.

To motivate all those who gave NaNo their best shot, but still came up short, I dedicate one of my favorite Jill Scott songs to you – Try Again. Take a listen.

Jill Scott

Jill Scott

Oh, and big congrats to my NaNo partner Stacy Tolbert for kicking the NaNo challenge in the butt on her very first attempt! Woo-hoo!

Until next time…

Marti

No wait! One more thing. If you participated in NaNo leave a comment letting me know how your writing experience went last month.

Photo: Soulwalk.co.uk

