Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This NaNo challenge has been kicking my ars, but I’m not giving up! I still have two more weeks to figure out what happens to all the characters I’ve created in my manuscript, and I plan on taking full advantage of that when I’m not working, making room for family time or trying to squeeze in some sleep.

A friend of mine recently posted this graphic above and I related to it instantly. The times when I get the best and most writing done are the moments when all is quiet except for the sound of my fingertips hitting my computer’s keyboard. But sometimes the silence doesn’t working. That’s when I  resort to listening to music for inspiration. Instrumentals tend to work best for me (songs with words just make me sing along instead of type). My NaNo buddy suggested I create a soundtrack or playlist to my story to help push up my word count. Guess what? It has helped.

The soundtrack is a little all over the place, but I wanted to share just a few of the tunes with you to give you an idea of what’s going on in my head. No need to be alarmed by my selection. I’m fine. Really.

Enjoy! (Click on the song to see the video.)

2012 NaNo Playlist/Soundtrack

*Say It Loud, I’m Black and I’m Proud / James Brown

*Lose Yourself / Eminem

*Crazy / Cee Lo Green

*All I Do Is Think About You (House Music Version) / Stevie Wonder

*Din Daa Daa / George Kranz

*Journey to Satchidananda / Alice Coltrane

*Bitches Brew / Miles Davis

Before you go, tell me what music helps you to be more productive.

Until next time…

Marti

