Tags

, , , , , ,

Thank you to all those who came out and supported Project Osmosis at our annual benefit this past weekend. Food and drinks were served throughout the evening as guests enjoyed music and good conversation with some of Chicago’s talented artists and designers.

I know I promoted the heck out of this event, but did I mention that I was honored with an award? Yep, I sure was! I’m proud to say that I am the official Project Osmosis 2012 Mentorship Award recipient. The award was given to me for being an “outstanding loyal supporter” to the design organization. Other award recipients included Dr. Lyn Hughes, founder of the A. Philip Randolph Pullman Porter Museum, (Community Award) and graphic designer/instructor Chevonne Woodard (Leadership Award).

In last week’s posts I told you all that I was also donating a painting to help raise money towards scholarships, computers and art supplies for the kids. Well, ta-da!!! This is the painting that I submitted.

Silent auction donation “Creative People Rule the World” by Marti Parham / Third Eye Communications Co.

As creative service director for Project Osmosis I came up with this year’s Design Youth Forum (DYF) theme “Creative People Rule The World”. This vibrant acrylic painting, accented with fabric paint, is from my “Black Girl” series, and is my whimsical interpretation of what the phrase means. I’m happy to say that  “Creative People Rule The World” went to the highest bidder for $225.00. YAY!!!

The annual benefit may have passed, but that doesn’t mean that your donations have to stop coming in. We accept donations all year round, 24 hours a day on our website. If you are interested in volunteering your time and would like to learn more about joining Project Osmosis simply contact us by clicking here.

Until next time…

marti

