Tags

, , , ,

As I did my morning routine, which includes running around the house and catching peeks of “Good Morning America” every few minutes, I watched the show’s news anchor joking around with her co-workers like she always does. I thought to myself, “Man, Robin Roberts really looks great. I need to start working out again.”

When the show closed I got a glimpse of people giving her hugs and kisses. For what I wasn’t really sure. When I started looking at the headlines on the Internet this morning I saw what all the on-air love was all about. Roberts, who went through a bout with breast cancer five years back, now has another health problem to deal with as a result of that treatment. What follows is an excerpt from a letter written by Roberts:

“Sometimes the treatment for cancer can cause other serious medical problems. Today, I want to let you know that I’ve been diagnosed with MDS or myelodysplastic syndrome.  It’s a disease of the blood and bone marrow and was once known as preleukemia.

 My doctors tell me I’m going to beat this — and I know it’s true.”

Roberts begins treatment for the disease today.

While this latest news saddens me, like her, I will keep the faith that she will beat this thing. Robin Roberts you are in my prayers.

To read the full letter click here.

Until next time…

Marti

Photo: Prevention.com

