Tags

, , , , , ,

I love water, but sometimes I forget just how good it is for me.

Experts recommend that we drink at least eight 8-ounce glasses a day, but do I do that? Of course not. I consider myself doing well if I get half of that down within a 24-hour period. The ironic thing about that is that I always feel better when I drink lots of water and my skin looks better too. According to Mayoclinic.com, water is the body’s principle chemical component and makes up 60 percent of our body weight. Our bodies depend on water to function at its best and flush out toxins and carry nutrients to the body’s cells.

I know this stuff, but still my intake is not what it should be. I must do better.

Just recently Oprah Winfrey reminded me of another reason of why I love water. Lately the “Queen of Talk,” has been making headlines, with articles like “Discovery’s Oprah Problem,” found on the Bloomberg Businessweek site, which detail the financial troubles plaguing her OWN network. Many believe that the bulk of the problem has to do with her choice of programming. I’ll admit I haven’t watch many of her shows, but there is one that I do like called “Super Soul Sunday,” which according to the website is “designed to help viewers awaken their best selves and discover a deeper connection to the world around them.” The episode I caught was a rerun of her interview with Deepak Chopra. During the show he talked about the connection between the mind, body and spirit. It was a reminder for me that I feel the most in sync whenever water is involved.

When my spirit is in need of repair for whatever reason I tend to take refuge by spending time by a large body of water, which for me is Lake Michigan. There is a peacefulness that comes with listening to the waves crash against the rocks that rejuvenates me and allows me to get back to focusing on the things that are important. In fact, I’m due for a visit right about now.

And as simple as it may be, a long hot shower has a way of working a magic all its own too. Keep in mind that not all showers are created equal, but there are some where I have temporarily relieved aches and pains that serve as frequent reminders that I’m not as young as I think I am. Others have even cleared my mind to release some of my best ideas, all while drenching myself under a showerhead. I know it’s not the most eco-friendly thing to say, but it’s true (I’ll work on shortening my drench time, promise.).

Whether I’m drinking it, watching it or bathing in it, water has served me well in feeding my mind, body and spirit. Part of me is ashamed that I have to be reminded of this important fact from time to time. That’s why from this day forward I (once again) vow to respect the power of water. Hopefully you will too.

Now, get started by gulping down those eight 8-ounces!

Gonna try my best to do the same.

Until next time…

Marti

Photos:Thefrooogal.wordpress.com, Chicagocenter.org, dornob.com

