Tags

, , ,

This is one of those weeks when I’m under attack of the deadline, and I swear, sometimes it feels like there is just not enough time in a day. In spite of all that I still wanted to put up a fresh Wednesday post that might serve as inspiration. This one is about the recent announcement of the John S. Knight Journalism Fellowship, a prestigious international honor that allows creative spirits in the field of journalism to take their craft to the next level while attending Stanford University.

One of the 13 U.S. winners is Chicago’s own Barbara Allen. The producer/engineer/editor with WTTW-TV PBS, who won an Emmy Award for the documentary DuSable to Obama, briefly shared her thoughts about the fellowship with to Marti Ink.

How does it feel to have been “Knighted”?

It’s the chance of a lifetime for me, the Fellowship brings together my years of engineering experience, my interest in history and my passion for storytelling.

Was this your first time applying for this fellowship?

This was my first time applying and it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.

How did you come up with your proposed idea that earned you the fellowship?

It was my research on DuSable to Obama, that directly inspired me to develop this proposal.

What is it that you are hoping to gain from this experience?

I hope to time travel. My innovation project is to develop a trans-media platform allowing audiences to virtually experience historical events.

What project are you working on now? Also, in your field, what piece of work would you say you are best recognized for?

I’m working on a piece on institutional racism and a couple of independent films. I don’t know what I’m most ‘known’ for, probably the “DuSable to Obama” documentary, but I hope to be most known for being a decent human being who loves and respects her people’s history.

Click here to view a promotional clip of the documentary DuSable to Obama.

The 2012-2013 program marks the 47th year that the university has offered fellowships in the field of journalism. While staying at Stanford the Knight Fellows will have an opportunity to attend special seminars and take independent courses of study.

Read more about the Knight Fellows and learn how you can become a fellow yourself by clicking here.

Be inspired.

Until next time…

Marti

