Tags

, , , , , ,

“The thing always happens that you really believe in; and the belief in a thing makes it happen.”  –Frank Loyd Wright

Big hug to actress Octavia Spencer on her Best Supporting Actress Oscar win for her role in the 2011 hit The Help. Last night she told reporters, “I’m very humbled because I get to stand here and accept this award and I haven’t really done anything,” Reuters reports. Spencer added, “I hope it’s a hallmark of more for young aspiring actresses of color. I hope that in some way I can be some kind of beacon of hope, especially because I am not the typical Hollywood beauty.”

Congratulations also goes out to Sean “Diddy” Combs who served as executive producer to the night’s winning high school sports documentary Undefeated.

And even though she didn’t go home with a golden statue actress Viola Davis made all us natural sisters proud by choosing to leaving the wigs and weaves at home and shamelessly rocking her Afro for the world to see. (Love it!)

Until next time…

Marti

Before you go “leave a comment” telling me what you thought of the Academy Awards ceremony overall.

Photos: Reuters/ Lucy Nicholson, AP/Matt Sayles

