Tags

, , , , ,

It saddens me that for the second time during Black History Month we are mourning the death of another person who has contributed so much to the music world. The fact that this person is the great Whitney Houston makes it even worse.

While the “official” cause of death will not be known for some time, it’s no secret that Houston battled with drug addiction. Years ago it all began with rumors about possible substance abuse, then came the shocking 2001 performance she did during a Michael Jackson tribute concert where she looked emaciated. But it was Houston’s infamous 2002 interview with Diane Sawyer where she talked about using cocaine and declared “crack is wack” that was proof to all that the singer was headed down a dangerous road.

I’m going to go ahead and admit that if the news of Houston’s death had come out during the height of her problems I would not have been as shocked as I was this pass Saturday. I would have still been sad, but not shocked. But it was because the iconic singer was making efforts to clean herself up and get her career back on track that I was rooting for her big time. Besides having completed the filming of the upcoming movie Sparkle, which is slated for an August release, Houston had recently mentioned to “Access Hollywood’s” Shaun Robinson that she would be up for reprising her role as Savannah in a possible follow-up flick to the hit movie Waiting to Exhale (1995).  There were even rumors that this very week Houston was scheduled to talk to famed producer Simon Cowel about becoming a new judge on the show “The X Factor,” according to “Access Hollywood Live”.

There is no denying that I was happy to see the singer starting to shine again. That’s why the news of her sudden death at age 48 saddens me the most. I’m sure many people are upset that Houston’s family has opted for a private “invitation only,” “no cameras allowed,” funeral service instead of one that allows the masses to grieve and show their respect. Keep in mind that this is their right. That just means that you have to find another way to pay tribute to Houston. Here’s Mine:

The Top 10 Whitney Houston Song’s
I’ve Butchered with My Singing Voice:

(Click the song titles to watch the You Tube video.

  1. I’m Every Woman
  2. I’m Your Baby Tonight
  3. You Give Good Love
  4. The Greatest Love of All  
  5. I have Nothing  
  6. All the Man that I Need
  7. Million Dollar Bill
  8. Exhale (Shoop, Shoop) 
  9. Heartbreak Hotel and of course…
  10. I will Always Love You

Until next time…

Marti

NEW NEWS!!!
It has been recently announced that Whitney Houston’s funeral service will now be available Saturday to broadcasters via satellite. http://livestream.com/aplive

Photos: Promo Shot, WireImages/AccessHollywood.com

Before your go, tell me what your favorite Whitney Houston song is.

